Community Blog: How to keep creating when you're unsure of what's next

I’m actually writing this first community blog post - that I’ve been thinking about for quite awhile- and I’m so excited! My excitement for this is in two primary buckets: first, I love to write. I’m a writer at heart and come by it honestly as my grandfather, father, and sister are all writers. You could say it runs in the family! 

Secondly, I’m looking forward to the conversations we’ll have from these blog posts. I’m not here to wax poetic and give you a lot of really fancy verbiage. I’m here to engage with you on a level where we all relate deeply- as fellow creators in an ever-changing world. 

In fact, that’s what I’d like to talk about today- how to keep creating when you’re unsure of what’s next. 

Did that make you shiver a little? If so, I apologize. While I’m not trying to strike fear into the hearts of you, my fellow community friends, I am curious at how this looks in the creator economy as a whole. There are so many of us, all working on different and equally extraordinary things, all during a time that has been more stressful than anything else many of us have ever experienced in our lifetimes. 

How’s THAT for an opening thought?! 😳

The cliche anecdotal response here is that ‘we’re all in this together’... to which I sometimes I want to reply, ‘Yeah but does anyone know where we’re actually going?!” It’s great to know you’re not alone in something, but you know what’s better than that? Knowing that someone has an inkling of a direction as everyone is collectively moving forward. Sometimes we are given this gift, and sometimes we are not. 

So what do we do when we don’t necessarily see where things will land, but know in our deepest gut that we should keep pressing forward- keep creating no matter what?