Skip to main content
Nathan Agin
Narrator, Actor, Shakespeare nerd
Asked a question 2 years ago

If a subscriber shows status "Completed" for an Automation and/or Sequence, do I need to create a NEW automation and/or sequence to add new emails? I understand using the +999 days to keep something active, but what about all the automations/sequences where that hadn't been done? I'm trying not to do "extra" work, but it feels like I need to start from the beginning with all these subscribers being "completed"

💡Make the most of your Community Member profile 

Share more about yourself! Click on your gravatar> profile > edit profile 

  • About You tab:
    • Photo: upload a picture of yourself or your brand
    • About You: let other community members know a little about you as a person, a creator, and anything else you'd like to add
    • Banner: add an image of your creator brand, logo, or an image that inspires your creativity
  • Social Media tab:
    • Let other members know where they can find you and your brand across social media platforms. This is a great additional step to connect with other creators in the industry!
derrallb
webhost and creator

Hi @nathanagin44 

it depends on what you want to do  --  without context of what you are offering and what steps your subscribers are taking, it is difficult to answer

for those who have "completed" the automation/sequence already, is there a natural next step or a new phase that you can take your subscribers into?

what about using a questionaire to find out what they might need/want to get to the next level?

remember broadcast emails work too,  those who have "completed" past actions will tend to be more likely to continue to stay engaged with your new broadcast emails

hope this helps,

Hey @nathanagin44! We have a guide here194 to help you determine if your subscribers will receive newly added emails to a sequence. If a subscriber is marked as 'Completed' for a sequence, you can also reach out to our team at help@convertkit.com42 (or via the in-app messenger in your account) letting us know their email address and the name of the sequence, and we can re-activate them for you. (We can also re-activate all the completed subscribers on a particular sequence, if you want — just let us know!)

As for visual automations, if a subscriber has reached the end of an automation, then they will not be affected by any additional steps added to that automation because they already are marked as completed for it. If you need to create a new automation and pull existing subscribers into it retroactively, we have a guide on that here107. We also have a tutorial here96 on how to make changes to an automation without interrupting its current subscribers, if that helps.

If you have specific questions about particular automations/sequences in your account, please feel free to reach out to our team and one of our Product Specialists can take a look :)

Question Stats

1,122 views
2 followers
Asked a question 2 years ago
Views this month